Corruption after Corruption

Maya is nice.

reverse-foot-system_0001_layer-1

It corrupts meshes but only sometimes and it’s when I bring 2017 files back into 2016. I downloaded Maya 2017 and that that is on my comp at home, I realised that some of the machines don’t work as well as others. Maya 2017 seems to be working quite well on my comp so hopefully it stays like that. I’ve gotten to a point where I would export my fbxs everytime I made any significant changes and save more scenes than usual. I had to redo my armchair and now that I know the shape of it, it’s not that bad. In fact, I think my second redo was much better than my first!

 

I also had Leg FK and IK and spine FK rigged.

I am quite shocked that it’s almost literally the same process but with the legs. I also added a couple more edgeloops on the arms for a smoother transition between the joints.

That being said, the Sony brief is introduced! The brief is broken down into two options, Environment Building and Weapon Design. I’m going for weapon design and I already have an idea of how it will function. I know that I’ll be going for an Ice Beamer or something that projects Liquid Nitrogen.

I took inspiration from Mei’s Endothermic Blaster, Soldier 76’s Heavy Pulse Rifle, Zarya’s Particle Cannon, Pharah’s Rocket Launcher, Torbjorn’s Rivet Gun and Forge Hammer and Bastion from Overwatch, the Ghost Busters’ Vaccum and Samus’s  Arm Cannon. While they are of different styles, I do think with those in mind, I can create something in the style of RIGS.

This idea has been in my mind for a while now and I’ve been going over designs after designs…

… and overall, I know for certain that I’m making the gun at least 1 metre to 1.5 metres long and I want it to be bulky. I experimented with attaching a gas tank, as well as glasstubes, possible rotations that would occur.

I originally intended for the weapon to be an offensive gun but after looking into wikis and this video, I concluded that this is more of a defensive/supporting and knockback weapon than an offensive destroying one, especially since the stages are in hot and sunny areas and when LN turns into a Water Vapour-like consistency in contact with heat and ices things with tissue. This is further supported by Mei’s playstyle and the function of Samus’s Ice Beam. Of course, this weapon could turn into a deadly one when the opponent’s machine is frozen over, which makes it brittle. This is a bit more dangerous for the pilot than the machine. Looking into Samus’s Ice Beam, Freeze Gun and Judicator, this could turn into an offensive weapon in general if it was a Plasma weapon with a chemical refrigerant so then it basically shoots ice balls that freezes things upon contact or an ice missile launcher.

I also made a quick block out and Maya mesh to see how it would look like and so far, it’s been going according to plan.

TL;DR: Maya corrupts meshes, had to download Maya 2017, got legs and spine rigging done and am making a freezer gun. Loads of science, needs further testing.

Leave a Reply

