First Session with ZBrush!

A little late but here are some pictures as to what I did in the first session of ZBrush. I’ve had a lot of experience with Sculptris which is made by the same company so I was quick to pick it up. We’ve also learned some Maya which is more technical which I will post more of. I have more experience with Blender which is the closest thing I can get to Maya because it allows both manipulation of polygons and mesh. I have more but is still limited experience in 3DS Max. In any case, I have to learn more about technical programs.

The first one I did.

The first one I did.

As you can tell, I'm not very strong at realistic human anatomy

As you can tell, I’m not very strong at realistic human anatomy

demon head front

I did enjoy doing that hair texture though which is very much more cartoony than realistic so maybe I'll focus more on that.

I did enjoy doing that hair texture though which is very much more cartoony than realistic so maybe I’ll focus more on that.

The second one I did. I used the wax material and I think it had a much nicer effect.

The second one I did. I used the wax material and I think it had a much nicer effect.

This was when I was getting more used to zBrush as I was able to do a muzzle.

This was when I was getting more used to zBrush as I was able to do a muzzle.

Here I just used the snake hook and pulled at all directions to create weird hair. I generally like the design.

Here I just used the snake hook and pulled at all directions to create weird hair. I generally like the design.

This was when I was very familiar with ZBrush as I started to used the Buildup tool rather than the grab/move tool.

This was when I was very familiar with ZBrush as I started to used the Buildup tool rather than the grab/move tool.

The grab/move tools are still very useful when wanting to get the general shape of the head or when I want to make creases.

The grab/move tools are still very useful when wanting to get the general shape of the head or when I want to make creases.

The hair is done using a different brush tool. Maybe I should've smoothed it out a little bit but I like the sharp texture.

The hair is done using a different brush tool. Maybe I should’ve smoothed it out a little bit but I like the sharp texture.

Leave a Reply

